Shepparton Cup

Shepparton Cup

The Shepparton Cup is the premier race hosted by the Shepparton Greyhound Racing. In 2017, the event has been moved to late July, a time of year that is conducive to attracting many of the best greyhound sprinters in Victoria and abroad.

Final: Saturday 29 July (Twilight)
First prize: $47,000
Sponsor: C.K.H Painting

Heats: Monday 24 July (Night)
First prizes: $5,000
Nominations close: Thursday 20 July at 10:00 am

Other feature races on Shepparton Cup night:
Ron Nestor Memorial (450m)
GRV Vic Bred Restricted Win Final (650m)
Go Distance Racing Cup Night Stayers (650m)
Goulburn Valley Sprint Restricted Win Final (450m)
*Please refer to the Racing Calendar here for prize money & conditions


The Shepparton Cup was first run in 1973 when won by Garner Bin. The race has been won by many brilliant greyhounds over the years, none better than local superstar Highly Blessed (1990). Other big name winners include Bomber Gleeson (1991), Head Honcho (1993) Kantarn Bae (2000), Knockabout Wok (2002), Puzzle Prize (2003), Slater (2006), El Grand Senor (2011) and Paw Licking (2013). Only one greyhound has won two Shepparton Cups, Thorgil Magic in 1985/86. The race was originally held over 440 metres up until the closure of the old Shepparton Showgrounds racetrack in 2004. Since then the Shepparton Cup has been run over 450 metres at Kialla Raceway.

WATCH: Aston Bolero (6) wins the 2016 Shepparton Cup over American Monster (2) and Shima Song (3).